GERMAN DESIGN AWARD for organisation system BRIC

The BRIC organisation system from PALMBERG received the German Design Award in the segment of Excellent Product Design. The German Design Award is the international premium prize awarded by the German Design Council. Initiated in 2012, the award has meanwhile become one of the most recognised design competitions worldwide and is held in high regard far beyond specialist circles. Its goal: to identify, present and award unique design trends. Each year, top-level submissions from the field of product and communication design are awarded, all of them representing pioneering contributions to the international design landscape.

The competition places the highest demands on the evaluation of its prize winners: a special nomination process ensures that only those products and communication design achievements are invited to participate which demonstrably stand out with proven design quality.

The BRIC organisation system has been awarded the German Design Award 2018 by the German Design Council in the segment of Excellent Product Design.

With BRIC, PALMBERG has created a young, outstanding order for the workplace. The BRIC system is highly flexible and provides the classic divisions for DIN formats and office utensils. But BRIC is also close to today’s users and takes the wishes of the young office workers on board. BRIC offers straight and angled sheets to create differently sized organisation compartments. In addition, drawers can be electrified and become a charging station. Also high drawers are given a completely new possible function by big insertable boxes, which can be used for stowing briefcases or shoes. Along with many special holders for bottles, mugs and other personal utensils, steel quivers for holding upright small parts like pens, scissors and rulers can be inserted into the plastic base and expand the functionality of the system. The overall product concept was created by the designers Christiane Gebert and Thorsten Rosenstengel.

“Those who are awarded the German Design Award have managed to stand out from the crowd. Our task is to observe the ways of working continuously and to identify changes at an early stage in order to derive suitable solutions for our customers. This is why we are very pleased about the German Design Award 2018 for our organisation system BRIC”, say the managing partners Julianne Utz und Nicole Eggert.

For PALMBERG, the award presented by the German Design Council has already been the second one in succession: last year, the company received the German Design Award Special Mention 2017 for the desk system SYSTO TEC

GERMAN DESIGN AWARD 2018 Auszeichnung für BRIC

Das Ordnungssystem BRIC von PALMBERG ist mit dem German Design Award 2018 im Segment Excellent Product Design ausgezeichnet worden. Der German Design Award ist der internationale Premiumpreis des Rat für Formgebung. Der 2012 initiierte Award zählt heute zu den anerkanntesten Design-Wettbewerben weltweit und genießt weit über die Fachkreise hinaus ein hohes Ansehen. Sein Ziel: einzigartige Gestaltungstrends zu entdecken, zu präsentieren und auszuzeichnen. Jährlich werden daher hochkarätige Einreichungen aus dem Produkt- und Kommunikationsdesign prämiert, die alle auf ihre Art wegweisend in der internationalen Designlandschaft sind.

Der Wettbewerb stellt dabei höchste Ansprüche an die Ermittlung seiner Preisträger: Durch das einzigartige Nominierungsverfahren werden nur solche Produkte und Kommunikationsdesignleistungen zur Teilnahme eingeladen, die nachweislich durch ihre gestalterische Qualität herausragen.

Mit BRIC hat PALMBERG eine junge ausgezeichnete Ordnung für den Arbeitsplatz entstehen lassen. BRIC ist variabel und erlaubt durch die große Flexibilität des Systems die klassischen Rastereinteilungen für DIN-Formate und Büro-Utensilien. Zusätzlich ist BRIC aber auch nah beim heutigen Nutzer und nimmt die individuellen Wünsche der jungen Office-Worker ernst. Dafür bietet BRIC gerade und abgewinkelte Bleche zur Erzeugung von unterschiedlich großen Ordnungsfächern. Zusätzlich werden Schubladen durch BRIC elektrifizierbar und so vom reinen Stauraum zur Ladestation. Auch hohe Schübe erhalten durch große einsetzbare Boxen, die beispielsweise zur Aufbewahrung von Aktentaschen oder Schuhen eingesetzt werden können, eine völlig neue Nutzungsmöglichkeit. Stahl-Köcher zur Aufnahme von aufrecht zu lagernden Kleinteilen wie Stiften, Scheren und Linealen können in die Kunststoff-Basis eingesetzt werden und erweitern neben vielen speziellen Halter für Trinkflaschen, Bechern und andere persönliche Utensilien so die Funktionalität des Systems. Kreiert wurde das umfassende Produktkonzept durch die Designer Christiane Gebert und Thorsten Rosenstengel.

„Wer beim German Design Award ausgezeichnet wird, hat es geschafft, sich erfolgreich von der Masse abzuheben. Unsere Aufgabe ist es, Arbeitsweisen kontinuierlich zu beobachten und Veränderungen frühzeitig zu erkennen, um daraus passende Lösungen für unsere Kunden abzuleiten. Daher freuen wir uns sehr über die Auszeichnung unseres Ordnungssystems BRIC mit dem German Designaward 2018“, so die geschäftsführenden Gesellschafterinnen Julianne Utz und Nicole Eggert.

Für PALMBERG ist die Auszeichnung durch den Rat für Formgebung bereits die zweite in Folge: Im vergangenen Jahr erhielt das Unternehmen den German Design Award Special Mention 2017 für das Tischsystem SYSTO TEC.